The Writers’ Block

Manika Pant
1 min readJun 3, 2021
Image by Ivan Samkov on Pexels

Often my words flow like a stream

A few rocks here and there,

My words shaping them,

They hone my words,

Supporting them like a crossbeam.

But once I faced a lofty stone

That waters could not pass,

The words that could jump about

Spurting incessantly from my mouth,

And brought rain cyclone.

After hitting the rock,

Those words had become still

And people called it many names,

Depression, Dysthymia, Melancholia,

The learned named it Writers’ Block.

How could one whose pen just drew

A million words into the air

With so much flair

Could stop?

For the mind is a cage and words just flew.

I hit rock bottom

And dug it deep

To find the cause

For the fallen words

Like leaves in Autumn.

And then I understood the writers’ block

Is nothing but a season change

For my mind to replenish itself

Like the winter lake that freezes

And hits many icebergs.

That melt as soon as summer arrives

And the writers’ block whoever survives

Is born again like the melted lake

That has clearer and frothier waves

And is ready to cross the writer’s block

Like a new rivery is unblocked.

--

--

Manika Pant

Educator and Education enthusiast turned EdTechXpert. Helping students by helping teachers find quick & easy solutions to classroom problems, one tool at a time